Posted on

On My First, and So Far, Only… Psychedelic Experience, and My Faith

In the spirit of Graham Hancock… Today I’m going to open up about my one, and so far, only psychedelic experience. No, I’m not necessarily opposed to having another, but it is illegal, and while the experience changed my life, I didn’t feel like it was one I would benefit from engaging in regularly.

At about 24 years old, fascinated by numerous accounts of revelation, I took a relatively large dose of mushrooms, and began a short, but beautiful hallucinogenic journey. The stars moved, and shot across the sky, plants and even simple street lights and man made paths had a beauty they otherwise could not have… and I felt a supreme sense of oneness with the universe. All of this was interesting, but if it were all that happened, I wouldn’t find this worth talking about, because it sounds like exactly the sort of thing which could become addictive, and it’s also a poison, not something I should suggest or talk about lightly. There is of course one other aspect of this story, which did make it worth discussing…

About halfway through the experience, having walked a few feet down a path, we came to a small botany preserve, with wonderful plant life. While the others wandered through the preserve, I stopped for several minutes, fixated, on a single plant… Not just a single plant, but the leaf of a single plant, and had a revelation, that would inform my faith, and change my personality, for the rest of my life.

That leaf, was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen in my life. Not just the leaf though, as the hallucination brought me deeper in, I could see the channels through which water molecules rushed, living cells reproducing and expanding in this, almost perfect symmetry… and the almost, was the best part, the imperfection, the struggle this leaf went through to survive, how easily any animal could have cast its life aside. The structure of the atom is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen…

Everything in the world, is the most beautiful thing you have ever seen, and that is our struggle… That is the experience of infancy, learning to establish relative values, and titles, labels in order to describe things to one another, but it always devalues them. Almost every one of our thoughts, place things into categories, and relative values, but things are not relative… they are objective, and the only key to living a happy life, is to realize that objectively, everything which exists, is good, it is lucky to do so. It doesn’t matter, and we can’t understand if there is a creator, we must simply learn to teach one another, that since things exist, rather than not… As something which exists, we must be on the side of the argument, which suggests that existence is good.

It is better to exist than not, that is all that I think anyone need have faith in. Everything you have ever seen is the most beautiful thing in the world, you’ve just trained yourself to ignore it. That is what my one and only psychedelic experience taught me. I think it may be the only thing the experience has of value. It gives you a sense of the revelatory nature with which you should embrace life… but you can’t just sit around on nice carpets and drop acid, you’ll starve to death. I wouldn’t recommend doing drugs, but I had an interesting experience on one, it influenced my life… and thus I believe it was worth discussing. I constantly come back to this basic assumption whenever I experience worry or distress, as something which exists, it is important for me to believe that existence is better than not. Hopefully, some of you find this insight interesting as well.

Peace and love friends.

Leave a Reply

