Posted on

Icona Pop “I Love It”… The Downfall of Western Civilization?

I was recently infected with this song during a shoe advertisement… and couldn’t get it out of my head for two reasons. One, it reminds me of something I talk a lot about… the other, I’ll admit it… It’s catchy simple pop. Who doesn’t occasionally get a goofy pop song stuck in their head?

I got this feeling on the summer day when you were gone.
I crashed my car into the bridge. I watched, I let it burn.
I threw your sh*t into a bag and pushed it down the stairs.
I crashed my car into the bridge.

I don’t care, I love it. I don’t care.

You’re on a different road, I’m in the milky way
You want me down on earth, but I am up in space
You’re so damn hard to please, we gotta kill this switch
You’re from the 70’s, but I’m a 90’s b*tch

I love it!
I love it!

Repeat 3 times… Yes, those are all the lyrics to this 3 minute song, which got more than 20 million views on you tube, then topped Dance charts in Germany, Sweden, Australia, and America. Featured in an episode of HBO’s hit “Girls”, this one song Icona Pop album “I love it”, sold over 1 million copies. So what? Well, when I heard this song, the first thing I thought was… So… Am I allowed to say this is sexist?

I don’t even mean sexist against men. I mean… Two women from Sweden, who I don’t think have major label support, made this song. The main customer, for the song, and the shoe store is women… As a man, if women like this song, and the ad works on them, am I allowed to say it‘s still insanely self destructive to pass this off as culture? Is it patriarchal for me to think I know better, or is this song an example of a patriarchal culture abusing women? If it’s an example of patriarchal culture, then, why don’t I see any men involved in it? Where are the oppressors?

For a moment, imagine this song from the perspective of a man, with traditional values, in love with this girl. As a culture… how do we teach men to react to this now? Just deal with it? Welcome to the new world? One day you’re in love, the next, she throws your stuff out, wrecks her car and says “I don’t care, I love it”. There’s no message to this song, it’s just a pure glorification of chaos.

This song reflects something I talk about a lot, but… the only competent critique of the 1960’s is that they shattered traditional values, for the better, but then replaced them with… nothing. The 70-90’s on into today, are culturally wrought with self destructive, substance abusing, lazy, whiny, shit, passing itself off as artwork. There are no instruments in this song… These two women can’t sing, or play music. It’s just autotune, and the default pop dance beat 1, 2, 3, 4, over and over, no creative drumming… How is this art? How is this getting 20 million views?

I love the advancements society made in the 1960’s. I believe empowering women, is the key to ending poverty… but, if this is the culture we create in the vacuum… there’s nothing empowering to anyone about it. This is a culture of self destruction, and if there is no adult in the room to say it anymore… We’re in serious trouble. I don’t want a bitch who‘s always in space, whatever decade she’s born in. No one should. It’s not a good look. Am I just being a crotchety old man?

Yes… I realize I’m culturally analyzing a dance song… but dance music is incredibly popular among young people. It’s a big part of our modern culture… What messages does it impart? There are a hundred pop songs I could write the same rant about, this one just happened to be so obviously self destructive, and used to sell shoes, so it stood out. No offense to Icona Pop personally, I actually listened to this while hitting the heavy bag, 1, 2, 3, 4 is great for working out, and dancing, and it’s a catchy song… but is there a reason that all the best modern music for dancing and exercise seems to have the message “let it burn”?

I think we need a more nuanced cultural approach.

Peace and love.

One response to “Icona Pop “I Love It”… The Downfall of Western Civilization?

  1. mishelle

    Fantastic! It is all part of the social engineering conspiracy though–nihilists are very easy to control. 🙂

Leave a Reply

